Blogger Recognition Award Nomination!

I was nominated by the lovely Nicole from Nicole’s Only Life for the blogger recognition award! I am so honored; I swear, even if I get nominated for a billion awards, I will never cease to feel amazed!:) If you want to learn about why I started my blog and hear some advice I have for new bloggers, read on!

image

The Rules

Thank whoever nominated you and include a link to their blog

Write a post and give a brief story of how your blog started

Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers

Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

Let the nominees know you have nominated them and provide a link to the nomination details.

My Blog Story

I’ve had other blogs before Sarah Learns Life was born but none of them lasted more than a week or two. I was either too young or just too deep in my eating disorder to focus on anything else. But I decided to give blogging another go because I wanted a place where I could talk about whatever I wanted to (AKA rant) and also where I could hopefully educate other people about topics that I’m passionate about.

When I first started this blog (although it really hasn’t been THAT long…), I couldn’t have imagined how many people I would connect with, especially in such a short time. It’s been crazy how much support I’ve felt since joining the WordPress community.

So, to sum it up, this blog is a form of “therapy” for me and also a place where I can connect and share with like-minded people.

I’m not sure if that was brief…*sees my online English graders roll their eyes*

My Advice for New Bloggers

Although I’m still pretty new on the block myself, I’ve learned quite a lot in the first (almost) 2 months of blogging.

  1. Not all your blog posts have to be amazing works of literature. 

I already touched on this a little bit in a previous post but it’s so true. It’s YOUR blog and you can write about whatever you want to write about in whatever way you want to. Forget about what other people think. Who cares? If you like it, then that’s all that matters. 

2. Don’t over tag!

I’m an over tagger. My first few posts have about 30 tags, maybe more. I kept wondering why my posts didn’t come up in the WordPress reader but I didn’t really care so I kept on tagging, tagging, tagging. I eventually found out that you have to use 15 tags or less or WordPress thinks your a spammer. It also makes it easier to organize and find your own posts when you keep the tags relevant and to a minimum.

My Nominees

And I nominate these awesome bloggers…

Cracks in the Fence

How to Get Things Done in 10 Ways

Em Recovers<

Sincerely Hil

This Is Me Recovery

Book Is Glee

Abbys Balance

Alwayshcpe

And if you are reading this, I officially tag you as well (since I didn’t specifically tag 15 bloggers!:)

If you’ve already been nominated, than ignore this and just know that you’re awesome!

I hope you enjoyed getting to know a little more about the “history” of my blog as well as some random blogging tips! Tomorrow I’ll be doing some thinking out loud…right now, my bed is patiently calling my name.

-Sarah

8 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award Nomination!

  1. Thank you for the nomination, Sarah! I don’t know if/when I’ll be able to post about it (I have so many posts backed up on my to-write list), but it means a lot to me! I agree with what you said about being amazed every time you are nominated. 😀

    And Oh. My. Gosh. I am so an over tagger, and I didn’t know that thing about WordPress! Haha, I always feel cheater if I don’t have a bunch of tags. I just feel better when I can classify things, and I want it to be easy to find stuff via tags, but ah well, I’ll live. I’ll just have to pick the most important tags. 😀

    Like

      1. Thank you! I tried to pay it forward – I left two slots for new bloggers that wanted to be nominated. Someone claimed a spot immediately – someone like me – and hopefully someone else will claim the other. Have a great evening, and I’m glad that you are OK with your “choice” to nominate me. LOL. I’m happy you left it open like that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

