Knowing What You Need To Do And Actually Doing It

Hello everyone!

I know, I’m writing before midnight. It’s amazing (I’m actually fully awake…who knew this was possible?!)

Today, I want to talk about something that I’ve been thinking about ever since my dietitian appointment yesterday: Knowing what you need to do and then actually doing it.

BeFunky Design

Yesterday, as I was explaining how I had been missing quite a few snacks and even a few meals and just NOT meeting my meal card, I ended with the statement, “I don’t know what to do.” The dietitian (I’ll call her Kay) looked me straight in the eye and said, “It sounds like you do know.”

I gotta admit, I was like, “What??

But as I reflected on it, I realized that yes, I know what I need to do.

I need to make meeting my meal card one of my top priorities, and throw all my excuses out the window.

The dietitian appointment was the kick in the butt I needed to stop making excuses and start doing what I need to do. It helped that Kay was really nice and I look forward to working with her. It’s great to have some extra support and I’m not ashamed to admit it. But all the support in the world, whether it be for an eating disorder or some other challenging situation, isn’t going to matter if we don’t take responsibility for our actions.

Obviously there are many situations that we have no control over. We can’t control other people’s behavior or someone dying. Even if we would really like to change those things, it’s literally impossible.

And let’s admit, doing what needs to be done is hard. It would be so much easier to just sit back and watch life pass us by, pretending that everything is fine.

But we only get one chance at life so we might as well take responsibility for what we do (or don’t do.)

Taking responsibility also means asking for the level of help we need. Last year, I couldn’t even fathom the idea of recovery and I needed a higher level of care. At that point in time, that’s what I knew I needed and I took action to get it. Now, however, I know that I have the tools I need to follow my meal card and keep working towards full recovery.

Sometimes, it takes a little reminder from other people or a big life event to get us started in the right direction. But I think in a lot of situations (not always, of course), we know what our first step needs to be. Maybe we don’t know what needs to happen after that but that’s okay. Sometimes we need to just DO IT (all copyrights go to Nike;)

BeFunky Design (1)

Stop making excuses, stop putting things off, stop letting fear control you. Does that mean you will never make excuses or that you will never put things off or that you will never let fear control you? No. It just means you will actively take small actions to reach your goals.

Eat that fear food, send in that resume, try that dance class. You know what you need to do to make your life better.

Trust yourself, take small steps, and JUST DO IT.

-Sarah

One thought on “Knowing What You Need To Do And Actually Doing It

Leave a Reply

