Thinking Out Loud…On A Wednesday (Or, I’m Back)

Oh my goodness, it has been a long time since I have blogged! I have so much to write about, I swear I could fill a novel…but at the same time, I’m not sure where to begin. It feels a bit awkward trying to get back into the flow of writing after such a long break.

So, in order to give this post some sort of structure, I’ve decided to Think Out Loud, even though it is a Wednesday. Yes, I am a rebel and proud of it!;) As always, thanks to Amanda for hosting this amazing link-up (which, if you didn’t know, is technically supposed to occur on a Thursday but again, I’m being all rebellious and breaking boundaries and all that.)

 

  1. To say that life has been crazy would be an understatement of epic proportions. But for the next several days, it will be a bit calmer (knocks on wood, crosses fingers, and sends up a prayer to Heaven above.)
  2. Seriously, though, with work, school, sickness, appointments, and just STUFF, I’ve barely had time to think, much less write. Every time I planned to write a blog post, something else would come up and I would put off to another day. But I have missed it SO MUCH. I didn’t even know how much until I logged on and started writing.
  3. As far as work goes, I can only describe it as a whirlwind of interesting experiences. I shall probably start a series detailing the intriguing and frustrating things that being a fast food worker entails. I am officially a “sandwich gal”, which basically means I make the sandwiches. Which sounds like it would very easy…and it is, until you are faced with a line of 15 hangry, impatient customers, with lots of special requests and plenty of criticism to spare. Fun times, fun times.
  4. But I don’t want to make it sound as if I don’t enjoy it because I do. I like the majority of my co-workers and one out of two of my managers and, in an odd sort of way, I enjoy the craziness and unknown of each shift. It adds a little spice to my life. I’m strange, I know.
  5. School is a whole ‘nother ball game. Although I am very close (and yet so far…) from finishing the remaining work from last year, I don’t how we will be able to afford the materials for the next grade. I won’t pretend I’m not worried about it but I’m trying to take it as it comes.
  6. And then, there has been sickness. And more sickness. And yet more. I’m not even kidding. First, it was strep throat and than a cold and now the stomach flu. Thankfully, I have yet to get the latter but it has just begun it’s rounds so we shall see! When you live in a family of 11 and one person gets sick, it pretty much a guarantee that everybody will get sick at some point.
  7. At the moment, the biggest thing on my mind is Thanksgiving and, more specifically, the large Thanksgiving meal. At the moment, the plan is to go to Cracker Barrel (they are hosting a Thanksgiving meal) because 1) We want to get out of the house and 2) Our oven is broken (since like last year…ha ha) and it is FREEZING here 98% of the time. So escaping (I mean leaving;) seems like the best option.
  8. (continued from above…) But even the thought of all that food causes a surge of anxiety. Over the past couple of weeks, I have been much more anxious about meals and portions, etc, and I’ve admittedly had more than one panic attack. I feel as if I am making no progress in recovery…not going backwards, per say, but not going forwards either. But I am determined to focus on family, not solely on food, this Thanksgiving. Reading Julia’s post makes me even more resolute.
  9. Speaking of tomorrow, I am very tempted to just skip my night snack tonight but I won’t because my body needs nourishment RIGHT NOW. And it will need more nourishment tomorrow. No need to restrict or eat “less” just because tomorrow’s a holiday. That is my mantra for this whole holiday season.

 

And that sums everything up. Well, not everything but you know what I mean. I am just excited to be writing again and although I realize this post was a messy jumble, it felt so good to get it out.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone and remember: Be kind to yourself!

-Sarah

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud…On A Wednesday (Or, I’m Back)

  1. I was literally thinking about you this morning and hoping everything was ok, although I just came back from a break myself. 😄 It’s good to hear from you again! I will definitely keep you in my prayers, though! Hope you have an awesome Thanksgiving despite the circumstances! ❤

    Oh, and maybe I'm just weird, too, but I totally get liking the challenges of your job. I've never done anything exactly like yours, but I really enjoyed helping a friend of ours cater a wedding reception, which was crazy, but fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was thinking about you too! I just read your update on your blog. I hope everything is going OK at the moment and I really hope you have a wonderful thanksgiving despite everything that’s going on (I realize you told me the exact same thing but it applies to you as well…) ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

